Studium anglistiky na KAA UPOL

Literature Nobel Prize Winners in the United Kingdom.

1907    Rudyard Kipling

"in consideration of the power of observation, originality of imagination, virility of ideas and remarkable talent for narration which characterize the creations of this world-famous author."

1925    G. B. Shaw

"for his work which is marked by both idealism and humanity, its stimulating satire often being infused with a singular poetic beauty."

1932    John Galsworthy 

"for his distinguished art of narration which takes its highest form in The Forsyte Saga."

1948    T. S. Eliot 

"for his outstanding, pioneer contribution to present-day poetry."

1950    Bertrand Russel 

"in recognition of his varied and significant writings in which he champions humanitarian ideals and freedom of thought."

1953    Winston Churchill 

"for his mastery of historical and biographical description as well as for brilliant oratory in defending exalted human values."

1983    William Golding 

"for his novels which, with the perspicuity of realistic narrative art and the diversity and universality of myth, illuminate the human condition in the world of today."

2005    Harold Pinter

"who in his plays uncovers the precipice under everyday prattle and forces entry into oppression's closed rooms."

2007    Doris Lessing

"that epicist of the female experience, who with scepticism, fire and visionary power has subjected a divided civilisation to scrutiny."


© 2008-2015 Všechna práva vyhrazena.